Drowning in Books: Musing Mondays

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

I am drowning in books.
Order is needed.
Order and self control!

Last year I began to put all my fictional books into an a-z order, tidied them up however I was left feeling dissatisfied. Non fiction was already in a different place. The I pulled out all the short story collections and the poetry putting them into two distinct sections.

Was that better?
It didn’t feel so.
So I left it.

Sometimes one needs to know when to walk away and let ideas stew a bit. Should I leave the rest of fiction together. I found that I, a person not known for her love of labels of any kind, who dislikes ‘genre’ and ‘sub genre’, whose sense of order is erratic to say the least, I wanted more order in these hundreds of books.

How much order did I want?

Did I separate the fantasy into plain fantasy and urban fantasy? Was the sci fi to be separated into dystopian and straight forward sci fi? Did I want the magic realism with the reality fiction or in a patch of its own? Indeed should the fiction be divided into continents, should the continents be sub divided into say North and South America the UK and the rest of Europe? What about translations? What about character driven literature as opposed to plot driven,’ should sagas and series go together or stay with the a-z? What about detective or mystery?

There was no end of bothersomeness:)

Then there was the non fiction.

Well I had moved all the philosophy and ethics into one section already and due to my studies at university food had its own section. Now should I divide science into evolution, general science, should the natural world come under science or should that be divided into its own natural divisions.
And so it goes on, the more one regards this momentous collection the more the problems multiply. I had at one time separated my parents books from mine but then I put them all together, only keeping established classics apart, then I mixed the classics with the A-Z as well, but, should the classics be kept separated?

So far I have separated fiction into short stories, fantasy/urban fantasy, magic realism, sci fi, hard backs, paperbacks, a-z by author and poetry.

Why do I bother? Well it may make it easier when I die of course, easier to get rid of to the correct places. That’s not, I fear, why I want order. I want it for me it is just that I am not very practised in the art!

How do other people do it?

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you do with your books once you’ve read them?

It was sheer coincidence that this question ties up well with the post with all my puzzlement as how to order my books. The inevitable thought comes up – why do I have so many? Why not use the library? Well, I do use the library, always have, but I am an addictive book buyer. I am also a book re-reader and if I have a sudden desire for a certain book it is too frustrating to wait until

A) The library is open
B) To find it is out on loan for next six weeks!

Every house move I make I do shed some of the load to libraries , charity shops etc but that is getting harder as my books age. also I cant stop buying books!

I try not to buy books, I do try, but like all addicts it is very difficult. I saw two yesterday at the supermarket, on their second hand stall, which looked really interesting, by an author I do not know. It used to be a second hand book stand for charity, donations that one thought was fair.  I had managed not to look at it for months in an attempt not to buy any more so I hadn’t noticed it had changed to a book exchange stand. Now there was a thought, could I find some books I know I will never want to read again, could I bring some books here each week to leave for others to read. I would only take back if something interesting came up:) Maybe it is worth a try. Wont reduce the piles tottering in the book room by very much but a drip of water eventually can wear away rock.

But. . But. . Do I have a few million years:)

 

6 thoughts on “Drowning in Books: Musing Mondays

  1. The ultimate dilemma for book lovers….I did some purging this year, and try to primarily buy e-books now, because they can rest happily in the “cloud,” before and after.

    Here is my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

    • alberta says:

      I have a deep suspicion of the cloud – I don’t even trust my ebooks(of which I have to many am having to sort them as well) – without the hard copy I feel everything stored can be whisked away! just a Ludite moi:) I have a sneaking regard for those of you who can order their books:)

      Like

  2. Oh, I will never stop buying books, so I understand your pain. I do have some type of order: all books by one author together; my Laura Ingalls Wilder collection and my Lucy Maud Montgomery collection in one place, my Civil War collection in another; writing craft books on one shelf. It’s all the new books that are a mess because my reading time has been so little the past year. Let’s enjoy drowning together.

    Thanks for visiting The Book Connection.

    Like

    • alberta says:

      we can exchange our flashing life as we go down:) there is of course the dilemma of does one use the time that sorting books would use up for reading a another book, or more, instead:)

      Like

  3. Wow, I only divide my books to series shelves and standalone shelves…and then I have my historical romance shelf…and that’s it…no order whatsoever :D

    Like

    • alberta says:

      apart from G.Heyer and D Dunnet I never really had series until I began with the urban fantasy and crime – years ago as a child I had many – they are all together in the ‘old’ section of the book room -my reading goes back a long way:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

