Discuss the endings:Musing Mondays

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

I am going to indulge in a small rant this week! I do not as a whole indulge in rants, most irritations I can shake off. This one though continues to irritate and from a small speck of dirt in my shoe has become a boulder.

It is the ‘I haven’t finished don’t discuss the ending’ plea at book groups.

Fine. I understand people do not want the ending disclosed before they have come to it – ‘spoiler alerts’ are good. I approve of them. Recommendations to others should never disclose the ending. I approve of never reading the last page first – I never have (although my father did frequently)

My credentials are clear; do not spoil the book.

However, however, book/reading groups are a different matter altogether.

The idea:

A book is read in a given time, usually a month.
Then there is a discussion about it.
Marks may be given.
The structure, characters, plots are all up for dissection and discussion.

The ending of a book is an essential part of the worth of the book, a poor ending can wreck a book. A ‘maybe’ book can be redeemed by good ending. A proper discussion of it’s worth can not be achieved without including the ending.

Do not say’ please do not discuss the ending!’

If for some reason one doesn’t have time to finish the book,  I do appreciate LIFE often gets in the way, either don’t attend or accept that the whole book will be discussed and cover your ears when the end is reached. Also, do not then reveal some other books have been read that month but not the one for the group.

There. Rant over. Apologies to all I have offended:)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you have any particular “quirks” when it comes to reading? (eg. taking notes while reading, etc)

I don’t think I do. I don’t take notes, or write on the pages. When I was a child I used to eat an orange or drink a glass of milk with a good book. If it is good I tend to avoid housework while I am reading it so it can be read preferably in one sitting, but that is becoming increasingly difficult as old age becomes stiffer:), or as few as possible.

 

11 thoughts on “Discuss the endings:Musing Mondays

  1. Jenn says:

    That’s so true about the book groups! I frequently didn’t get to read or finish the books when I was in a book group. However, I never prohibited anyone from discussing the book’s details — ending or otherwise. I knew it was just par for the course. If I didn’t want the spoilers, I wouldn’t attend. Mostly, though, I’d just attend and say, “Ah well”, because I knew it was my own fault for not having finished the book in time.

    Like

  2. I agree! If you are discussing a book at a club meeting, the “whole” book is up for dissection. Good rant!

    Here is my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

  3. Kwizgiver says:

    I totally agree with your rant! That’s the point of book group–discussing the book!

    Like

  4. Cheryl says:

    I have never participated in a book club or meeting, but I completely agree with you. I would be so annoyed if someone stopped the rest of the group from discussing a certain aspect of the book for whatever reason.

    Cheryl @ I Heart Fictional People

    Like

  5. I agree on all points! I guess that’s also the reason why I am not usually active in book groups, I easily get annoyed too, especially when there’s a monthly discussion about a certain book and other readers beg not to disclose anything. :(

    Like

Leave a Reply

