Emotional Investment in a Book: Musing Mondays

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Since I faded during the summer I have read too many  books to comment on in one post so will be posting round ups and reviews over the coming weeks. Suffice to say that although my blogging and writing foundered on the rocks this year my reading sailed on beautifully.

To begin 2016 I have the remains of my Christmas books to read. I am half way through ‘The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer which is proving a good read. I have to read The Ruby Slippers by Keir Alexander for a book group coming up next week.

My own choices will include The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey – a book I know nothing about so no expectations either way. Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekback another I know nothing about. The The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi This is the second in series of YA speculative/dysfunctional books I enjoyed the first very much so have high hopes for this one.

I must not read too many books as I have to get back to my writing so will leave it at that for the moment:) I hope everyone had lots of lovely reads for the festivities and happy reading for this new year
This weeks random question is what do I do after finishing a book – begin a new one immediately or. . .

This of course depends so much on the book, the effect it has on one’s emotional or curious part of he brain. Just recently for instance I read the third of Elly Griffiths books The House at Sea’s End, I stayed up late, into the early hours, to finish it I was enjoying it so much and crawled into bed well satisfied. After a good nights sleep I was ready to read another book. On the other hand I have also recently read Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey which I also enjoyed however it was a couple of days before I could pick up another fictional  book. Maybe because of my age or the fact that a few of my friends are beginning to have the same problems mentioned in the book I found I was too caught up with the characters to move on, there was much to ponder and to re imagine.

It is at times like that I find some non- fiction to be such a help. There is no emotional investment in most of them. I can indulge my curiosity, learn something new and let the emotional costs of the fictional characters fade into my memory banks. But even here a book such as Stalingrad or War on Children can rip one apart in a way no fiction ever can and from those I would need a book on ‘language’ or ‘useless facts’ or ‘plants’ to allow the effects to be mulled over. Of course non-fiction is always there not just as a stop gap but because I find them endlessly fascinating for that curious cat in my mind!:)

If I read a book immediately I have finished another it is a fair indication that it hasn’t satisfied me at all. There are very few like that fortunately:)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

 + a random question of the week

Leave a Reply

