Book Treats & Amazon’s new moves: Musing Mondays

musingmondays51

It’s been a week of heat and sunshine and I felt extravagant. I often feel like this but rarely indulge but, after parcel after parcel of new flowers and bulbs for my re-designed garden had been received, unwrapped and planted I had a yen to buy something different.

Books.

Like I really need more books.

Like my to be read pile doesn’t frequently totter and crash to the ground its so high.

Like there isn’t the library, the book groups the. . . well you understand – why would I need more books?

Of course need has nought to do with it. It’s a desire, a craving, an addiction. Bookworms can exist on other books for a long period of time but sooner or later the desire for the new outweighs sense:)

I was relatively ‘good’
I only bought three

However as they weigh in at
624
493
613 pages

I reckon it’s the equivalent of about 5 ordinary sized books.Nice long hours of enjoyment
So what did I buy

Part five of The Game of Thrones – A Dance with Dragons – it is a two parter in the UK.

1) Dreams and Dust

and
2) After the Feast

I haven’t watched this on DVD yet, I like to read the books first before the visuals so this is one of my summer reads

The third book is a David Mitchell book The Bone Clocks

– A feast awaiting – Mitchell always delivers tons of imagination, inventiveness and a total disregard for genre – I like him very much

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: So, apparently Amazon is now going to pay its Kindle Unlimited & Select authors by pages read. You can read more about this {here}. What do you think of this? Share your thoughts!

I have a deep distrust of any mega-firm – especially one who is trying to snap up and devour small businesses – I’m at heart a Luddite:) I have never participated in the Kindle system because it appears to me that if someone buys or borrows a book it is entirely the reader’s choice if it is read – the author should be paid for book, not have to bear the cost because someone discovers they don’t want to read it after they downloaded.

As to monitoring how fast a page is read how would that affect authors if people like me read it – I find it almost impossible to read at a normal rate – I read so fast (as a speed reader would, have always ever since a child) it would probably disadvantage the author?

Amazon is always out for itself – which is  I guess it’s remit to share holders, however their ethics are kind of shaky – no different I realize than most of the world! I have kindled my books but never as select or unlimited, never using their cut prices – I only did it as a sop to all those places one wishes to advertise that never have a link to anyplace else.  I always direct folk to Smashwords.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

 + a random question of the week

 Happy reading everyone:)

Leave a Reply

