Decide which book as the mood takes me-’tis all I can do:musing mondays

musingmondays51

I lost last week somewhere.

Looked under cushions – in drawers – even checked the garage. Nope, not a sign of last week  anywhere.  So apologies once again, my silver moments become more silver by the day. I blame the sunshine – so rare it addles one’s brain:)

Reading now, well last week I was finishing books and sorting out my writing so starting this week with a clean plate. Do I go with a challenge read? or a just for the fun of it read? or some more research?

It’s sunny again today I cannot decide.

The books I have on my read any day soon list are

Research:
Have a nice Doomsday by Nicholas Guyat
The Emerald Planet by Davis Beerling

Fun:
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London by Julia Stuart

Book Groups:
Dark Winter by David Mark
ABC murders by Agatha Christie(a re-read)

So I have them next to my chair and will decide as the mood takes me. ‘Tis all I can do:) I will report next week:)

Now the question of the week. Favourite childhood book?  I cannot really answer this it with one book it so depends on what age one is talking about.

When I was very young (4/5’ish) I liked the tales of Orlando the marmalade cat (I re-read them last year and they still hold good.

Later when I could read for myself I think, Beautiful Joe and Black Beauty were probably my comfort food reads (I would cry over them whenever I was in bed ill. They haven’t really stood the time for me in my cynical old age I do find them a trifle mawkish now)

Then when I was about ten I discovered the Jungle Books (Rudyard Kipling) and they have remained a favourite over the decades.

Those Old Shades (Georgette Heyer) when I was 12/13ish still a comfort food read (for when I feel ill or fatigued, I like the wit and the lack of sentimentality) all her regency books are.

Then when I was 15/16 I first read The Fellowship of the Rings – just a couple of years after it was first published. I was hooked and I have read it at least every 1/2 years since, I possess many versions of it. Hardback,(3 Vols) paperback, leather bound with bible paper pages cassette, video, DVD, audio books.

My favourite book of all time.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

 + a random question of the week

2 thoughts on “Decide which book as the mood takes me-’tis all I can do:musing mondays

  1. Breana M. says:

    Seeing Agatha Christie on your list reminded me that I need to read more of her novels.

    Like

    • alberta says:

      I haven’t read any for decades – not my favourite back when – but tastes change – I shall be listening as I cannot find my copy of it in the jumble that is the bookroom – so borrowing my sisters audio:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

