Humans, storytelling apes?

musingmondays51

 

Many apologies for my long absence have been without an Internet connection for nearly a month:( anyway back now hopefully.

I have been reading all this time but to many to mention today. I am very behind on reviews and challenges now so busy busy fingers called for this week:)

A couple of weeks ago I was drowsing in the morning and heard a discussion about story telling – woke up immediately:) there was a gentleman on the group discussing his theory that the expansion of homo sapiens was largely due to being a story telling ape. We had nothing special to distinguish us from the others until some genetic sequence produced the imagination to story tell. Well as you can imagine I wanted to read his book. It was located and ordered withing half an hour of me getting up. It arrived this last few days and I am now immersed within its pages.

Sometimes one just has to have a book.

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari and despite it’s title it is a fat book of just short of 500 pages (paper back)

I am just up to the agricultural revolution – long way to go yet!

As a bit of light relief when I ordered this one I ordered the second of The Alex Verus series – Cursed by Benedict Jacka. I had discovered him earlier this year. I was pleased to find this was better even than the first. And really pleased to know there are many more.

The question this week is whether one has different genres for different seasons?

I cannot say I do. Some genres are more appealing for different moods but seasonally I don’t think so. I don’t go away much on holidays any more but when I did I chose books for their thickness, I needed long reads as I read so quickly. When I am ill I turn to old favourites from my youth – like Georgette Heyer or maybe recent light-hearted reads. But mostly I read as the fancy takes me that day.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

One thought on “Humans, storytelling apes?

  1. Breana M. says:

    I agree with you, I don’t read different books based off of which season it is. I pick up books solely based off of what I feel like reading at the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

