Inspiration and delight from a book:Musing Mondays

musingmondays51I attended a two day workshop a week ago, subject – Textured Embroidery. I have embroidered all my capable life. Of course everyone, girls that is:) was taught at primary school. The obligatory cross-stitch on a gingham pinny.  Mine was a yellow one. Maybe we went onto actually decorate a place mat. Many of the girls probably never went onto anything else except what was given in lesson time. However, there was something in the craft which appealed to me and I have never, since then, gone long without  coloured silks and cloth. Be-dragged across the continents and decades, I experimented and sewed.

It is harder now with wrists and fingers who hate the minuteness of the needle, of sight which frowns at tiny holes and  mutters to me ‘What shade did you think that was?’ I care not. I attend my group here every month and attend the workshops.  Learning all the time.  Many innovations, stitches and styles are beyond my physical capabilities now but, hey, innovation is the name of the game.

Anyway books. One of the ladies attending had brought a book along about Celtic, Viking and Anglo-Saxon embroidery. I fell into the sin of coveting my neighbours goods! Thank goodness for amazon and it’s market place. I couldn’t really justify the price of this book out of the household budget, but I desired it so much. I browsed through it off and on all day, growing more excited all the while and the first evening, searched, found and ordered a second hand copy. Sorted.

The book arrived this last week and I have spent the weekend reading through it. I have been educated as well as inspired. My knowledge and admiration of those early embroiders has risen from already elevated heights. I have been inspired not only in the embroidery stakes but also journal making. I have an idea glimmering for an art doll as well. It is wonderful what one book can produce.

Celtic, Viking & Anglo-Saxon Embroidery: The Art & Embroidery of Jan Messent

Celtic, Viking & Anglo-Saxon Embroidery: The Art & Embroidery of Jan Messent

A glorious book celebrating the art of Jan Messent, through re-creations of Celtic, Viking and Anglo-Saxon artifacts.
Combining contemporary renditions of ancient embroideries with historical facts, this exquisite book by Jan Messent brings to life the ancient textiles skills of Celtic, Viking and Anglo-Saxon women and celebrates the centuries – old tradition of embroidery in England that has served as a foundation for present day excellence. Jan’s beautifully executed mixed-media creations, combine myriad materials, including threads, paper,fabrics ,fibres, paints and beads, and are presented here as a series of handmade books and artefacts . This unique collection combines everything held dear to the author’s heart, and is testimony to her renowned talent as an embroidery, as well as her skills as a writer,artist and historian.
Hardcover, 142 pages
Published July 1st 2010 by Search Press
ISBN
1844484092 (ISBN13: 9781844484096)

 

As to the random question today: how often do I uses the library and what do I think of the service?

Not as much as I ought, living off a pension! I read a minimum of two a month from the library, as the two book groups I belong to, use the county list for choice of books. Some months I will venture in and spot one from the small village library – that is how I discovered Blake Charlton. I occasional bring home some reference type books for my writing, or hobbies.

When I was a child here in the UK I used them extensively, and when living in Australia and New Zealand for 5 years used theirs as well. It is more the matter of getting them returned nowadays as I don’t get out so often. Since the Government cuts, our village library is on line for closure and at the moment runs very much reduced hours and the nearest town one, although still open regular hours, is not so easy for me. So instead of paying the fines, I would occur, I buy second hand – works out at about the same cost and the books are delivered. I also get to keep them:)

I loved libraries when a child as do so many children, they can,for no cost,open up worlds undreamed off. Inspire a lifelong love of the written word, a lifelong curiosity of the world about us.The modern libraries with their computers are carrying on the long history of knowledge gathering alongside the story telling groups and activities.

To cut back on libraries is a crime against the future in my opinion. I know politicians are short sighted, but to do this while, hand on heart, declaiming we must educate our young better – makes this old lady snort with angry derision. The services they offer to us are enormous and uncountable, and Governments think it makes sense to close them! It is one of the nonsenses that make ponder whether living to 120 (my ambition:) is a good idea!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…
7 thoughts on “Inspiration and delight from a book:Musing Mondays

  1. Michael says:

    I love visiting my local library. Not only its physical location, but also the library’s web site! I can put items on reserve and check out e-books and audio books.

    Like

  2. alberta says:

    nowdays I use computer to order books but there still remains my problem of returning them before the fines! my sister uses the audio books section but finds the change over to CDs from tapes more difficult and far more likely to go wrong she uses it less and less. Cannot think why CDs don’t work so well.

    Like

  3. I have not used my library as much as I once did…and it’s a great one. We had serious cutbacks back in the day, but now things are better. I do donate books to my neighborhood library when I am purging.

    Thanks for sharing…and here are my BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS

    Like

    • alberta says:

      when we moved from the south to the east we donated a great many books to the Library – but they take fewer and fewer nowadays because of the technology and closures – it will sort itself out in time:)

      Like

  4. Breana M. says:

    I haven’t used my local library much in the past few months. I have too many books to read right now.

    Like

  5. We had some major cutbacks in libraries in the late 70s….and then, inexplicably, we seemed to move beyond this, as now we have lovely libraries nearby, open even on Sundays. But I don’t visit them as often as I once did…sigh.

    Here is my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

Leave a Reply

