a spur of the moment reader:) musing Monday March 2nd

musingmondays51I missed posting last week from Monday onwards so straight back into Musing Monday.

What I plan to read this week. So many waiting my pleasure and I don’t normally decide until the spur of the moment. However, I do have to read The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards as it is our required read for a book group next week. I have high hopes of enjoying it.

It is also high time I reported in to my Books in Translation challenge, so I have taken off the shelves The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. I bought this some time ago intrigued by the title, so it is on my Mount TBR challenge as well.

Also The Girl who saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson – aren’t some titles just a siren song to possess these books:) I enjoyed his first book so much, fingers crossed this is as delightful

It is not strictly speaking a reading week for me, that was last week and because of health issues I didn’t read, so whether I will be able to fit all three in around my writing I’m not sure. Especially as I am still reading Marlow’s Dr Faustus.

Random Question: Now it is required of me to really think hard – and Monday morning is not the best time for this! A favourite Genre?

Um.
Ah.
Dunno really.

In no particular order, I enjoy literary, magic realism, urban fantasy, some detective, non-fiction( science, natural life, ancient history, language)So many more it is quite an eclectic range

In fact I think I throughly confuse Amazons little elves when they are trying to find me similar reads based on my ordering.

I cannot hand on heart say which is my favourite. I’m not keen on romances, vampires, thrillers, historical but that is not to say I don’t sometimes find one I really enjoy. So afraid the random question has me stumped today- sorry folks.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What is your favourite genre?

 

13 thoughts on “a spur of the moment reader:) musing Monday March 2nd

  1. Michael says:

    I enjoy causing the Amazon recommendation protocol issues with my choices of reading. It can be an interesting way to find books that I might not normally have considered.

    Of course, it can also give you some really random options and recommendations!

    Like

  2. jonesjar says:

    While I have a favorite but have backups for when I can’t find a book in my favorite genre.

    Like

  3. I think my most common choice is contemporary fiction, but lately I have been doing a lot of psychological thrillers. Here are my BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS

    Like

  4. It’s great that you enjoy such a lot of variety in your genres. I don’t read quite as widely as you with crime fiction and all its derivatives being my favourite but I also love historical fiction and contemporary fiction. Thanks for visiting my MM https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/musing-mondays-march-2/

    Like

  5. Sonia Lal says:

    That’s funny. There really is no genre you read over any other?

    Like

    • alberta says:

      can’t think of one – I have moments when I will read two /three of one genre straight after another but then move to another – at the moment am reading Marlow, Milton a modern story, and a translation just previously non fiction about weather, literary tour around Britain and war – just whatever takes my fancy really

      Like

  6. Verushka says:

    Magical realism! I’d love to know any recs you may have for that — I’ve wanted to understand it better, but I think I’ve found the wrong titles to get into the genre with. Here’s my Monday musings, in the right spot http://editingeverything.com/weekly-events/monday-musing-7/

    Like

Leave a Reply

