Musing Monday:February 23rd

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you enjoy debating / discussing the books that others are currently reading? Why, or why not?

I blogged about this past week:

Last week I reviewed five books for the British Book reading challenge, on this blogsite, over three blogs in succession. I have moments when that is all I want; easy, exciting, escapism reads. I came to Urban Fantasy late in life but I guess the seeds of enjoyment were always there.

Otherwise I contributed to 1000speak blogathon where bloggers wrote their take on compassion. There are hundreds of bloggers who joined in and it’s certainly worth looking at a few.

If you ask people what they like best in their heroes, compassion, in it’s many forms and labels, comes up high on the list.

It is I think hard wired into our DNA. We forget it too often as our lives get so tangled and busy but everywhere you go in the world of ours compassion is there. I saw it firsthand years ago on my travels and see it constantly now at home. The ability to put oneself into another’s skin – to feel what they feel.  In times of great disaster it leaps to hold out its hands.  Parents can look at their children and feel another’s pain, can look around their neighbourhoods and feel the loss So lets raise a cheer for the compassionate and celebrate  can feel it every day, those who carry it so far they are willing to put their lives on the line to do so.

As to discussing a book with others:

I used to hate doing this and dreaded those times, when studying for Literature exams, when we expected to do so. My friends and I used to watch all the plays we could, in London, standing for hours in the gods. We watched Shakespeare, Osborne, Becket, Elliot, Brecht amongst many many others.  Immersed ourselves in modern authors and had to dissect and find hidden meanings endlessly.

I remember watching Peter O’Toole playing Hamlet in the long version nearly 5 hours of, I have to confess, torture on the legs! My friends always wanted to discuss, analyze on the way home and I only ever wanted to sit on the tube and relish in quiet what I had seen.

Live it for a few more hours.

For years after reading groups sprang up around the country I avoided them like the plague

Not for me.
Horrid idea.
Just enjoy the books.

Then I lost my books and spent three years in loneliness and decided in desperation to join a reading group. Treat reading

As homework
A task
Anything

It worked a treat, I remember it was a Minette Waters book. I found it difficult to discuss, at first I lurked on the fringes. It wasn’t pretentious as it had been in the days of exams, it was fun.

It was fun?
Well I never!

Now, well yes, I still have some reservations, some books which  I hold so dear I will not discuss them with others.

I belong to two reading groups now, down here on earth, none really in cyberspace. I love discussing our designated reads at the groups, especially if opinion is so divided there is an ‘interesting’ discussion about it. I have also taken on board genres and authors I would never have tried before and because of the discussions read them with a mind as to whether and why others would enjoy them. I believe this has made me far more tolerant, understanding of ‘others’ it has also added whole genres to my ‘likes’. More willing to step outside my comfort zone in pursuit of a good read.
Took a few decades but yes I do enjoy discussing books with others.

4 thoughts on “Musing Monday:February 23rd

  1. jonesjar says:

    Like you I don’t want to discuss every book but really enjoy discussing some.

    Like

  2. Sonia Lal says:

    OMG! I have always enjoyed discussion.

    Like

    • alberta says:

      I think maybe because I was so solitary a a child and odd amongst my peers in that I read such a lot I missed out on the natural discussion that children have about these things. Who knows. I enjoy it now and that’s the main thing. Thanks for dropping by both of you:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

