Musing Monday 2nd Febuary.

 

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme, from shouldbereading, that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:What do you think about re-purposing old books (eg. into art journals, etc)? Why?

Having just finished Mabinogion, unknown author/s and Confessions by Saint Augustine, as well as a clutch of war/refugee books for research I am looking for some light relief this week. I plan to read The Neon Court by Kate Griffin, another in the Midnight Mayor series, which promises me a great deal of death, mayhem and magic in London – Light relief from war? Yes, the research was reality with real humans and terror, fiction of this kind helps to purge ugly realities away.I will be able to claim it for my British Authors Challenge as well – bonus.

 I must keep an eye on the Literary Movement Challenge – I found the Mabinogion and Confessions slow going, they needed time, to absorb, which I find difficult because I am a naturally fast reader. To read slowly for me is exhausting. If next month’s books are similar I must begin them promptly, so I may well begin one this week. Either The Tragical History of Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlow or Areopagitica by John Milton. Will see how the week progresses.

 I also have to re-read Ellen’s Tale by Alberta Ross – yup by me – I published it in 2009 and have been invited to a reading group next week to discuss the book with them. I need to remind myself what I wrote!:)

Barmy about Books

When I first spied one of the artful creations made from the pages of a book I was entranced – it was beautiful. The craft part of my being wanted to create one .I had books, I thought, I have craft knives and I was reasonable good at crafting. I may well have had all those but what I lacked was the ability to carve into the flesh of a book!

Books were my first and, at times, my only friends. I learnt to read before the time of remembering. Almost as if I had read from birth:)  they comforted, excited, inspired and taught me. I carried at least one with me wherever I went. Handbags, suitcases, backpack and pockets all had to be large enough to nestle a book, usually more, or they did not get bought. I find I cannot harm them. Even those I have grown up and away from, those inherited which I don’t if truth be known(and I whisper this) want anymore. I cannot throw away, nor can I trash them. If I can find a good home well that’s painful but life.

I did think once of creating a book wall in the garden for the tiny creatures to inhabit, and the earth to eventually inherit – I can’t do it. I love recycling, upcycling making new from old.  This, would be for akin to casting a person aside, don’t look at me like that, I know it’s crazy:)

Recently I began art journaling, having seen some amazing examples up on Pinterest. I liked those journals and the ones re-using books and pages are fascinating, two lives running as one – alternative universes. I tried, but I can’t. I still seek out pictures of the art creations and old book journals to pin on my boards.

I’m a stupid old woman. I know books are not ‘people’ not ‘living organisms’. They are but wood pulp, dreams and imagination. But to me they are alive and I cannot harm them. Teachers, parents and friends all.

As you can see I am a trifle barmy about books

8 thoughts on “Musing Monday 2nd Febuary.

  1. Good luck with your book discussion. How exciting.

    I’m not sure I could deface a book either, even if it’s to create lovely art with it. I’m not opposed to it, but I’m not sure I am the one to do the transforming.

    Thanks for visiting The Book Connection.

    Like

  2. alberta says:

    I almost said no to the discussion as I am not good at speaking in public however, they assured me it wasn’t a talk but a discussion all sitting around in comfort drinking tea and coffee so thought I’d give it a go – must always try something out of comfort zone!! keeps the brain cells zinging:)

    Like

  3. Sonia Lal says:

    I understand. Even though I read mostly ebooks now.

    Like

    • alberta says:

      I have begun buying e-books for days when wrists cannot hold a book – but I haven’t developed any empathy with them – maybe because I feel they have a sell by date programmed into them – technology changes so fast they will prob. never be such close friends:)

      Like

  4. You have some interesting ideas here…enjoy! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  5. ladyambrosiaj says:

    You not a stupid old woman :) books are a living thing. They take us to wonderful lands and we get to meet new people. When I settle into a book from a series that I have not read for a while. I always feel like I am visiting old friends. Thank you for stopping by Fire & Ice this week.

    Like

    • alberta says:

      sorry for late reply – internet has been down here for a while – old friends indeed – I just read Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers for book club here in real world! I first read it about50 years ago and have visited it a few times since, I so enjoyed ‘curling’ up with it again and renewing and catching up:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

