Nightfall by Stephen Leather

Nightfall by Stephen Leather

I have never read Stephen Leather’s thrillers, never been tempted, I have been assured by a friend that they are very good. However this book today, the start of a series, I discovered through the fantasy route. Urban fantasy. I am hooked. But still not tempted into the thriller side.

Shrug.

Who knows why?

 

What do you do if you wake one day and find your soul has been sold to the devil the day you were born. And the devil will collect when the baby (you) grows to 33 years old.

Jack Nightingale discovers he is this baby, when he unexpectedly inherits a mansion and a pile of books worth a fortune. His soul? Well he is three weeks short of his 33rd birthday.

While your sympathies are with him as he struggles to save himself, you also get the feeling he would be a bad, bad, friend to possess. It is unlucky to be around Jack Nightingale as he searches for the truth,for answers and a way out of his future. As he pursues these ends the devil is engaged in stopping him, he has after all waited 33 years for this soul. To stop him, people die, die horribly, die before they can give him the answers he needs.

This is quite dark in places, which I confess to liking, not all old ladies are sweet lavender and honey cakes:) I don’t in reality believe in anything supernatural so one would think this kind of book would not appeal over much to me, but I do enjoy a good story and I can suspend belief any old time. I have discovered, this year, a real liking for urban fantasy.

Nightfall was a very satisfying book to read , when I began it I didn’t realize there was more to come, however the news was very welcome and the next two are lined up for next years enjoyment.


2 thoughts on “Nightfall by Stephen Leather

  1. violafury says:

    Alberta. I read another book named “Nightfall” by Nelson DeMille many, many years ago and have since re-read it many times. It is a politico-thriller and so plausible it leaves you with many more questions than there were answers to begin with. The ending is spectacular and tragic. I urge you to read it, because not only are the characters so real, but the whole book is driving toward larger forces at work in any government. The other reason, is the main character, John Corey, is a huge dipstick, much like myself, Witty and fun, he can be counted on to do the politically non-correct thing, but he does wear his heart on his sleeve.

    As to your “Nightfall,” I find myself highly intrigued by things like this. The idea of giving one’s soul over to the Devil is nothing new, but as a baby? It sounds intriguing indeed; I’m going to be looking for it. As to supernatural and things that go bump in the night, my experiences and my family’s have led me to believe, once again, that there are things out there, we cannot perceive, with our 5 meager senses. But, as my visual impairment worsens somewhat, and my neurological condition no longer allows me to trust my sense of touch, let’s just say, I sense things in other ways.

    For about a year after I was committed when I had a psychotic break after deciding(?) that I didn’t need to sleep, I experienced what is known as “sundowning”. I’ve always been a creature of the night; my careers were both done at night and I am not an early bird. But I was sensing and feeling things around me, that were gathering in towards dusk. I gradually got over it, and I surmise they’ve always been there. Now, I’m just used to them. I guess it’s a case where one sense deteriorates, another takes over. Since we only use 10% of our brain, it makes perfect sense to me. After this period of “recalibration,” it just seems normal. Most of the time.

    Anyway, I shall read this book. People usually give their souls to the Devil though as adults. They go to the crossroads, much as Robert Johnson did, the father of the Blues. At age 27, he was a lousy, lousy guitarist who couldn’t get work in the Juke joints around here in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama and Florida. The story goes, that he walked out to the crossroads and held that gee-tar up high, and said, “Satan! I will give you my soul if you’ll make me the best Blues Guitarist in the Land!” Lightning cracked and thunder roared.

    Robert walked back and started tearin’ it up in the juke joints on the circuit. Word got back to Texas and they sent some men who recorded his music. I have a CD with his legacy. Mr. Johnson wrote and performed only 27 songs and those 27 songs were the basis for Blues and Rock and Roll, today. Astonishing stuff. Is it true? Who knows. I talked to Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, who before he passed was a Blues violist. He didn’t lend much credence to it, but, I can tell you this. You don’t go from being the worst to the standout in less than 6 months time. I hope you enjoyed my little bit of American backroads history! xoxo

    Like

    • alberta says:

      Urban fantasy will be normal fare for you then, maybe scary – who knows what is true or not certainly not moi – my mind just works on logic and needs proof all the time – just the way it is – however I can devour fiction of all kinds – indeed write fiction of all kinds so what gives with my mind?!!:)I will keep an eye open for your nightfall – thanks:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

