Books, books and more books:alberta’s 2013 challenges

senior hands on a bible

As I say reading challenges tempt me and I do little to resist. This year I have gone overboard and collected a wonderful list.  At first glance one could be excused for saying – madness! – she has her writing to do – her life to live. Where could she possible find time to read so many books?  Well, of course I might not find time – this past year wasn’t a great success, but I am boxing clever with this list.

 I decided last year to

a) To support my fellow Indie writers

b) Read genres I don’t normal read

c) Become much better acquainted with fantasy

 So the Indie, e-book, new authors, self published challenges cover both a) and b)

 Fantasy speaks for itself –and as many of the fantasy books are long sagas and plenty are written by Indie authors they are also covered byThe Tea and Books challenge (650+)  the Chunkster challenge (450+) and the Indie challenge

 The Mount TBR challenge will cover some of the Tea and Books, Chunksters and certainly covers most of the Find a New Author challenge

 Telling Tales being about fairy tales and myths will deal with fantasy and a couple of the TBR challenge also.  Dystopian will wander in and out of most of the challenges:)

 Goodreads will cover all the books in all the challenges, plus the 24 books lined up in the 2 reading groups I belong to in the real world! Yes I do sometimes visit the real world:)

 I hesitated at the Keyword and What’s in a Name challenges and had to go through my intended reads quite carefully to see how close I could get now to the requirements – there are only a couple of months missing so they are covered as well.  After all it mustn’t be a done deal otherwise how could I get out and buy new books?

 My challenges for 2013 are as follows

The Goodreads 52 books in 52 weeks (I managed 60+ this year)

Mount TBR challenge (Pikes Peak 12)

What’s in a Name (6 books)

Go Indie (Tentative=5 )

Monthly Keyword (12)

e-book (CD 10 )

Self published ( sentence 5)

Dystopian (Asocial 5 books)

Telling Tales (Princess = 10)

Tea and Books (Berry Tea =4)

New Author, new to me (15)

                Chunkster   (Mor-book-ly Obese 8)

I couldn’t find myself a non-fiction challenge I could really get into as they all wanted to confine in some way. Most of my non- fiction at the moment is concerned with research and isn’t able to fit easily into catogories – I will though keep a note of the books written and see how many I manage in the year.

 This ought to be do-able if naught goes wrong:( you see how optimism wins out over sense in my mind:)

4 thoughts on “Books, books and more books:alberta’s 2013 challenges

  1. Birgit says:

    A warm welcome to the Tea & Books Reading Challenge! Happy reading!!

    Like

  2. Bev Hankins says:

    Welcome to Mount TBR! Good luck with your climb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

