Some books are massive!

Two of the reading challenges I have signed up for this year are the Tea & Books Reading Challengeand the Chunkster Reading Challenge.  I have been cautious at the level I am going in on the first of these challenges as some of these are seriously large.  It is not the process of reading them which dictates caution, I have no problem from that aspect I am and always have been a rapid reader.  As a child teachers, librarians and even, for the shortest while, parents would test me to check I wasn’t lying when I said I had finished a book.

That was then – nowadays the problem lies with age.  Oh no not the eyes – the eyes can be accommodated with a pair of specs.  No it’s the wrists and fingers which have driven me to reading e-books more and more. They increasingly complain at holding a book, a combination of  smashed bones, bone grafts and pinning combined with ageing and the aches and pains that come with that condition have left me with a feeling that if I am to read those books of that size remaining on my shelves I must hurry and do so!

I have arranged them all in a special section of the shelves and, if luck walks alongside me this year, I will not only read the few but maybe update my ambitions and read the whole amount – ah sweet dreams.

As it is the biggest of them will have to be read on a table top, maybe all of them, I can still dimly remember the days of curling up with a chunk of alternate life.  However us oldies are made of stern stuff and I will do!

The Tea & Books Challenge demands books of 700+ pages and I have entered at the Berry Tea Devotee which is 4 books of over 700+ now most of those I have to read (I am endeavouring to clear my TBR pile at the same time) are well over this 750 mark

Of Time and the River by Thomas Woolfe = 1035

The Pillars of the Earth by  Ken Follet = 1076

A Suitable Boy  by Vikram Seth = 1474

Antony Adverse by   Hervey Allen = 1133

The Brothers Karamazov by  Dostoyevsky = 846

The Lord of the Rings by Tolkein = 1069 (re-read)

The Tale of Genji by  Muraski Shikibu = 1090

Poor Fellow my Country by Xaviar Herbert = 1463 (re-read)

Three  of these overlap the Classic Challenges  and could overlap the Chunkster Challenge so I have put them all up- maybe I’ll read them all maybe not.

In the Chunkster Challenge the books have to be  450+ pages and as with the first challenge I have more than I need in the house – this size is much more manageable for my hands so have gone for the Mor-book – ly  Obese level which is 8 books in the year 3 of which must be 750+ and the other 5  the 450+

so apart from the above I have

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet  by David Mitchell

The Owl Killers by Karen Maitland

Making History by Stephen Fry

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Dejà Dead by Kathy Reichs

Saving Fish from Drowning by Amy Tan

Lacuna  by Barbara Kingsolver

The Map of Love by Ahadaf Soueif

The Mammoth Cheese by Sheri Holman

East of the Sun by Julie Gregson

Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry

These are the lightweights of the massive world coming in at between 450 and 700 pages.

these can overlap the TBR Reading Challenge.  All in all if my wrists will stand up to the task i am going to so enjoy my challenges.  It is unfortunately addictive I keep seeing others I would like to enter – stop it – stop it I’m supposed to be writing a book this year.

6 thoughts on “Some books are massive!

  1. Pillars of the Earth remains one of my all time favorite books. I hope you enjoy it, and it is actually a fast read. (Grab that one first!)

    Hope 2012 finds your hands pain free and cooperative!

    Like

  2. Ooh – Pillars of the Earth is one of my favorite all time reads! Love love love that book!

    Like

  3. alberta says:

    My friend from forever/editor has been telling me I must read this book for years now- not sure why I haven’t! so yes it must be one of the early ones – before she comes to stay again so I can say – done it:) and two more recomendations

    Like

  4. Vasilly says:

    Thanks for joining the Chunkster Challenge.You can always read your chunksters on an e-reader for the challenge since you have trouble with your wrists. Happy reading!

    Like

    • alberta says:

      might have too in the end – but that would necesitate buying and I rather fancy reducing the TBR pile and having a relatively economic reading fest this year:) I have just finished my first one – feeling chuffed

      Like

  5. Birgit says:

    There you are :-) and here was me thinking that you just haven’t posted about the challenge yet on your other blog! I now changed your entry linking it to this site! Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

